Low-Calorie Snacks

Snacks and dieting…dieting and snacks. As I’m sure you’ve noticed, these are two things that don’t go well together.

In my pre-diet days, I loved the oh-so-easy snacks. I’d just grab something from the fridge or cupboard that would quickly satisfy my carb or salt cravings.

Snacks on a diet don’t have that happy-go-lucky quality. For me, snacks now require careful planning from the grocery store right up to the finished product. Even a simple nosh like an apple requires making sure I always have apples in the house.

But this post isn’t about the simple snacks. I don’t know about you, but sometimes an apple, a handful of carrots, or a bowl of popcorn (how to make your own in the microwave, oil-free) just won’t cut it. I want a snack more interesting in taste and texture that is also

  • Low in calories, i.e., has little or no fat. (Sugar isn’t a problem for me; I use artificial sweetener.)
  • Healthful because it has nutritious ingredients.
  • Filling so that I don’t get hungry again so quickly.
  • 2 Weight Watcher (WW) points or less so it doesn’t overwhelm my daily count. (Roughly 100 calories.)

To that end, I am now experimenting with snack recipes, mine and others’, with the express purpose of keeping the calorie count down. As part of this effort, I decided to compile a list of all my low-calorie recipes to better understand how to replace empty calories with good ones. I thought you’d find this list helpful.

Butternut Squash Brownie

Quick Breads: A snack with flour always helps me with carb/sugar cravings. The trick to keeping these snacks low-cal is to replace fats. My intention is to revisit some of my older recipes and see if I can alter them. When I do, they’ll be re-posted and listed here.

Blackberry Cobbler

Cobblers: I’ve adapted a great recipe that had no eggs or oil.

Bean Bakes: The main ingredients—3 eggs (no substitute) and 2 cups of navy beans—are roughly 110 calories or 2 WW points per serving. These ingredients provide some fat and a lot of protein; hence they are very filling, and this is why I love them. (Note: these links will bring you to The Bean Bake Blog.)

Cauliflower-Carrot Bean Bake with Ginger and Garlic

Quinoa Puddings: A ½-cup serving is filling, in part, because the quinoa provides protein. However, to be low in calories, the puddings also require liquid egg substitute and almond or other low-calorie milk.

I’ve made these puddings with mango, banana, pumpkin, chocolate, squash, and plums. Check out Quinoa Puddings: Basics and Variations.

Chocolate Cravings? More Quinoa Stuff: Baking with cooked quinoa instead of flour is a great way to save on calories and still have a filling snack.

7 thoughts on “Low-Calorie Snacks

      • I saw that post. I’m at home so I don’t have to think about working and bringing foods somewhere. But you know what would really work for an office environment? The 2 quick breads. Because they have squash and pumpkin, they are moist and dense. Very filling. And you don’t have to use gluten-free flours and xanthan gum. Just add up the amount of flour/starch and substitute with regular flour. When I’m adapting, I just do the reverse. So much for my advice gene today!

  1. Nice list. I don’t worry so much about calories, but I do try to keep a balance of healthful ingredients in my snacks. My recent kick has been sugar snap peas and hummus or almonds, as I have no functioning oven and can’t bake anything!

    • No oven? Ouch! I could do the sugar peas but not the hummus or almonds without being very careful and measuring/counting. I like the fact that most of the snacks can be pre-cut so I only take one!

Did you find this helpful?

