Cauliflower-Turnip Vichyssoise

A true vichyssoise is a thick soup that includes potatoes and cream. Regrettably, it is outside of my dietary bounds, no matter how much I love it or try to alter it with low-cal milks.

So I was utterly delighted with this culinary experiment. The soup looks like a vichyssoise! It tastes like a vichyssoise! (Well…okay…sorta…)

The spouse even agreed the soup was good and then said suspiciously, “What’s in it?” Yes, he knows me well.

The experiment began, as many of them do, at the discounted vegetable rack where I picked up 2 heads of cauliflower and 14 turnips. (I didn’t quite expect so many in the bag, but I hadn’t counted them either.)

After I got home, I realized I had something of a turnip dilemma. Why not, I reasoned, add a couple of turnips to my Creamy Cauliflower Soup?

Why not? As it turned out, the two vegetables have a lovely, toning-down touch on each other’s flavour. The taste is a subtle, happy mix of the two, and the soup is smooth, creamy, and delicious, hot or cold.

“Turnip!” the spouse said. “I knew it!” I beg to differ.

Printer-friendly recipe

About 5 quarts of soup (feel free to halve or quarter)

Ingredients

  • 2 heads of cauliflower, coarsely chopped
  • 2 turnips, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1 sweet onion, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 6-8 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp. minced garlic (optional)
  • A handful of fresh chives
  • Salt, to taste

Directions

  1. In a large pot, pull all ingredients, except chives and salt.
  2. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 30 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender.
  3. Remove 2-3 cups of the liquid. (You should take out as much as you think you can before puréeing to ensure thickness. If necessary, you can always add some of the liquid back in.)
  4. Purée using a hand blender until soup is smooth.
  5. Add salt to taste.
  6. Sieve the soup into a second container. (This step is necessary to remove the stringy residue of the turnips.)
  7. Serve in bowls, topped with chives.

For Weight Watchers: 0 points on the PointsPlus plan.

Did you find this helpful?

