Quinoa Brownies for Serious Chocoholic Dieters (no flour, no oil)

Hit by an intense and unceasing chocolate craving? Fear not, these brownies will come to the rescue.

They are moist, rich, and chocolate-y to the nth degree.

They’re also healthy, chockfull of protein, and good for your diet.  Plus, a cinch to make.

Sounds impossible? Read on!

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 16 brownies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups quinoa, cooked
  • 1 cup liquid egg substitute (4 eggs)
  • ¾-1 cup sweetener, taste-test before baking (Note to Weight Watchers: the point value below is based on the use of artificial sweetener.)
  • 2/3 cup applesauce, unsweetened
  • ½ cup of cocoa powder (I use Fry’s; I haven’t seen other brands in Canada.)
  • ¼ cup alternative milk, unsweetened (I used soy milk.)
  • ¼-½ cup grated coconut, sweetened (If not dieting, willing to make these richer, or a coconut lover, I’d go with the larger amount.)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. almond extract
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • Cooking spray

Directions

  1. Put all ingredients in a food processor and blend.
  2. Spray a 9″ x 9″ pan with cooking spray.
  3. Pour in batter.
  4. Bake in a 325° F oven for 45-50 minutes or until a knife inserted in the centre comes out clean.
  5. Cool before eating.

For Weight Watchers: The total recipe without coconut is 16.5, making each piece worth 1 point. However, I found that the coconut complemented the chocolate and provided a nice crunch. Add 1 point for each tbsp. of coconut that you use.

(Adapted from Chocolate Quinoa Cupcakes at the eatpurefood blog.)

33 thoughts on “Quinoa Brownies for Serious Chocoholic Dieters (no flour, no oil)

      • I tried it for the first time recently myself. I’m in love and my wife likes it too. It won’t replace all of our rice, but with chicken, fish or pork I’m serving quinoa now. Rice will still be served with any dish with a gravy or with beans.

    • Good Morning…thank you for “liking” my entry. It brought me to your blog…Once I finish my juice fast, you Quinoa Brownies will be on the dinner plate. I am using Stevia to replace as much sugar as possible. I know sugar also has qualities beyond sweetness in any recipe. Have you had any experience with replacing sugar with stevia? Would you suggest increasing any particular element? …thanks again. Jim

      • Hi Jim, Unfortunately, I’ve never used stevia so I don’t know its properties. I don’t see it in our grocery stores actually. I use Splenda which is a 1 to 1 ratio or occasionally erythritol (a sugar alcohol) which is only about 70% as sweet as sugar but it has the same granularity…very good for toppings. I do know from having baked a few items with real sugar (for dinner parties or potlucks) that the regular stuff has a tendency to create a smoother texture. I hope this helps. Claire

      • I don’t. I don’t use sweetners much anymore. I do know that stevia is “sweeter” than table sugar so you would probably use less.

  1. I will try this – I use Quinoa all the time – I don’t like the texture in soups/stews though – but my family does including the kids – then I don’t like the texture of barley or as a oatmeal type of dish, either so I am afraid of the texture – would quinoa flour work in this recipe instead?

    We eat quinoa by its self or mixed with beans or sweet potatoes all the time!

    • I think this recipe might work for you. Because everything is pureed in the food processor, the quinoa texture basically disappears. However, you might not like the texture of the coconut? You might also like my quinoa cookies (Protein-Packed Chocolate Quinoa Cookies)…here again, there is no quinoa texture to speak of.

  2. *drool* Now that looks chocolatey…. I may well give these a go and try working out the syns for slimming world (will let you know the value if you’re interested 🙂 )

      • only slightly, but similar in a fashion. there are free foods (fruit, veg, most meats, the usual stuff), and healthy extras (wholemeals and dairy – there are alternatives for anyone with intolerances too) and the rest is syns. so sugar, processed foods, and chocolate of course… flour etc comes under syn values too, so gluten free recipes go a long way to reducing the value. I’m just about to try your recipe out, will let you know how it goes!

  3. I am about to try your recipe, but I have a silly question. Does it call for 2 cups of cooked quinoa or 2 cups of raw quinoa measured and then cooked?? I realize this is an old post, but I hope you see this…

    • Hi, sorry to confuse you, and when I read it this time around, I can see why! It’s 2 cups of cooked quinoa, i.e., after you’ve cooked 1 cup of quinoa in 2 cups of water. But please measure your cooked quinoa–I always end up with more.

  4. Pingback: What a week! | My Little Blog - Life As It Happens

  5. I think I may die of happiness (rather than the calorie-laden-brownie induced heart attack I was heading for before) now that I have found this recipe!! I’m going to exchange the coconut for hazelnuts (20 are a Healthy extra B on Slimming World) and give this baby a whirl tomorrow! Thank you!

Did you find this helpful?

