Focaccia Mini-Loaves

I am truly, honestly, thrilled by these mini-loaves.

In the gluten-free, dairy-free, diet journey that is my life, I have been truly thrilled on three occasions:

  • When I made my first gf baked product—cornbread. I was ecstatic at having a starch to eat that wasn’t rice, potatoes, or rice cakes.
  • When I made my first successful loaf of gf bread. I was ecstatic that I had advanced beyond creating heavy door stops!
  • When I discovered bean bakes. I was ecstatic that beans and eggs could provide me with low-cal, easy-to-make, and healthy alternatives to flour-based products.

Real thrills. Ordinary people would tell me to get a life, but you and I know differently, right? So I hope you’ll be thrilled along with me about these mini-loaves. They provide a yeast bread experience without the yeast! Rich, satisfying, and delicious.

Three more things:

(1) I’m not really sure whether these loaves classify as focaccia. They’re not made with yeast or are flat and dimpled, but they do have spices, including rosemary, on top. But they’re made with yogurt, not water…yada, yada, yada…but, what the hey, they need a name.

(2) This is an adaption of an already gf recipe. Many thanks to April at the Gluten Free Zen blog for a great recipe: “Italian Flatbread.” I knew her bread would be delicious but, alas, not for me. It wouldn’t fit into my diet at 22.5 points per mini-loaf. So I changed the flours, altered the ratio of flours to starches, cut the oils as far back as I could, and managed to just about halve the point value: each mini-loaf is now 12.5 points, and a ¼ portion at 3.25 points makes a fine and low-cal addition to a soup or salad.

(3) These freeze beautifully and taste just as good after defrosting.

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 2 mini-loafs

Ingredients

Notes to WW cooks:

  • The flours and starches in this recipe add up to 18 points. If you decide to change flours—and there’s no reason you couldn’t have many different combos, please check Point Values of Gluten-Free Flours, Starches, and Ground Meals to evaluate the points.
  • I cut back the oil in the topping from 2 tbsps. to 1 tbsp. I did find that, after baking, some of the topping spices fell off when I was cutting the bread. The additional oil may help with this, but it will add 1.5 points to each loaf.

Topping Ingredients

  • 1 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • ½ tsp. dried rosemary
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsps. sheep romano
Loaf Ingredients

  • ½ cup white bean flour
  • ½ cup millet flour
  • 1/3 cup tapioca starch/flour
  • ¼ cup potato starch
  • 2 tsps. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. xanthan gum
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ cup liquid egg substitute (2 eggs)
  • ½ cup goat or sheep’s milk yogurt
  • 2 tbsps. applesauce, unsweetened
  • 2 tbsps. water
  • 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar

Directions

1. Set out a cookie sheet and cover it with parchment paper. Set aside.

2. In a small bowl, mix together the topping ingredients, except for the cheese. Set aside.

Batter will be thick.

3. In a medium bowl, whisk together first eight ingredients: flours, starches, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, and salt.

4. In a large bowl, whisk together liquid ingredients: egg substitute, applesauce, yogurt, water, and vinegar.

5. Add dry ingredients into liquid ones in batches, mixing well as you add. Batter will be thick.

To handle the dough,
your hands need to be wet!

6. Wet your hands in order to handle the dough.

7. Separate the batter and form into two equal-size mounds.

8. Place the mounds onto the parchment-paper-covered cookie sheet.

9. With wet hands, pat the mounds down until they are round and flat.

Getting ready for the oven.

10. Using a brush, apply the topping to the dough.

11. Sprinkle on cheese. (I used hand-grated cheese, but next time I’ll use store-grated cheese which is finer. Some of my pieces of cheese fell off when I cut the loaves after baking.)

12. Bake in 375° F oven for 20-25 minutes. Bread is done when a knife inserted in the centre comes out clear.

13. Cool on a rack.

For Weight Watchers: Each mini-loaf has a point value of 12.5 points.

8 thoughts on “Focaccia Mini-Loaves

  1. interesting. I do better without gluten … sad to say than with it. So while I have no diagnosis … I run this direction … so gonna check this out later on. Not for a while since I am leaving most grains off for now–too many cravings pop up. I will save this for a “Cheat” day. Yeah!

Did you find this helpful?

