Millet-Quinoa Gluten-Free Bread

Millet-Quinoa Gluten-Free Bread
I am THRILLED beyond measure because I have finally made a lovely loaf of yeast bread.  I know exactly what you’re thinking: “Lady, get a life!”

Well, bread is the staff of life, and I am delighted to welcome it back into my existence after some notable failures, including a tasteless loaf, a use-it-as-doorstop loaf, and a generally awful tasting loaf. (However, notably, all of these resulted in excellent gf bread crumbs.)

But this loaf made the grade: it rose beautifully, has a lovely mild taste, and a respectable shape.  While the bread was still warm, I slathered ½ tsp. of butter on a slice and luxuriated in the rich flavour that only comes from eating a newly baked piece of bread.

FYI: Prior to making this loaf, I had been contemplating buying a bread machine because many gluten-free bread makers use them, including the author of the recipe from which I adapted Millet-Quinoa Bread.  However, while discussing this potential purchase with the spouse, he pointed out, oh-so-logically, a flaw in my thinking.

He noted that the only reason we have bread machines really is because they take over the arduous task of kneading gluten dough.  And since gluten-free dough doesn’t require kneading…well, I had to concede the point although I adore buying kitchen gadgetry.  (Sigh.)  In fact, I didn’t even need a mixer to make this bread: only a whisk and a wooden spoon—old-fashioned but still extremely effective technologies.

So…with the help of the original recipe as well as advice from gluten-free cookbook authors, Bette Hagman and Carol Fenster, I set out, sans machines, on this bread-making journey:

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 1 2.5 lb. loaf

Cooking tip: The original recipe called for 2 tbsp. of whole flax seeds and 2 tbsp. of whole millet as part of the dry ingredients.  I had neither on hand, but I think they would give the bread an interesting crunch.  However, if you’re a Weight Watcher and add these ingredients, you will also have to add their point value to the bread’s total points (see below).

Dry Ingredients

  • ¾ cup millet flour
  • ½ cup quinoa flour
  • ½ cup brown rice flour
  • ½ cup white rice flour
  • ¾ cup + 2 tbsp. tapioca starch
  • 1/3 cup potato starch
  • ¼ cup flaxseed meal
  • ¼ cup sweetener (Note for Weight Watchers: the point value of this bread is based on the use of artificial sugar.)
  • 1 tbsp. xanthan gum
  • 1½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. gelatin
  • 1 tbsp. active dry yeast
  • 1 tsp. sugar

Wet Ingredients

  • 1½ cups of warm water (if, as you’re mixing wet and dry, you find that the dough is too thick, add additional water by tablespoons)
  • 3 eggs, at room temperature
  • ¼ cup oil
  • 1 tbsp. molasses
  • 1 tsp. vinegar
  • Cooking spray

Directions

  1. Proof the yeast.  You do this by mixing the sugar and yeast in warm water and letting the yeast start to rise.  Your water should be 110°- 115° F, and it is helpful to have a thermometer to ensure the temperature is correct.  Let the yeast rise as you prepare the rest of your ingredients.  If your temperature is correct and your yeast is active, it will form a layer of foam on the surface of the water in about 5-10 minutes.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk all dry ingredients (except for yeast and sugar) together.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together the oil, eggs, and molasses.
  4. Add proofed yeast and water to the wet ingredients.
  5. Mix dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in batches.  When you’ve completed this step, your dough should have the consistency of thick cake dough and be able to flow slowly off a spoon.
  6. Spray a 9″ x 5″ loaf pan with the cooking spray.
  7. Using a wet spatula, put the dough from the bowl into the pan. (Gluten-free dough sticks to dry surfaces.)
  8. Wet your fingers and smooth out the top of the dough.
  9. Cover the pan with a warm, wet cloth and put in a warm place for the dough to rise.
  10. Allow your dough to rise until its top-most portion is as high as the pan: about 45-60 minutes.  Your bread will continue to rise as it bakes.
  11. Bake in a preheated 400° F oven for 45-55 minutes until top is browned and/or a thermometer inserted in the loaf registers 205° F.

For Weight Watchers: The total point value of the loaf is 66 points; it weighed 2.5 lbs. or 37 oz.; thus each ounce is worth 1.75 points on the PointsPlus plan.  For an accurate point value, you will have to weigh each slice that you cut.  I found that a typical sandwich slice weighed 2 oz. and was worth 3.5 points.

(This recipe was adapted from a recipe sent to me by someone I met in a health food store, and we got talking about gf diets (funny how that happens!).  I don’t know where hers came from, but after some research I think it possible that the very first “Gluten-Free Bread: Millet Oatmeal” came from the Gluten-Free Mommy blog.)

11 thoughts on “Millet-Quinoa Gluten-Free Bread

  1. I am just curious about the need for a sweetener. Is it really needed or is it more for taste? What sweetener did you use.
    I am excited to try this recipe having a child who cannot handle gluten but loves sandwiches.

    • Hi, Thanks for writing, and I really hope this bread works for you and your family. With regard to sweeteners: Since I haven’t made this without the sugar, I can’t say what would happen if you removed it, but my feeling is that the taste of this bread is very well balanced. It’s mild, neither particularly sweet or salty. It has a bit of a nutty flavour which comes, I believe, from the quinoa and millet flours and the small amount of molasses. The brown rice flour probably also adds some flavour. Because I am dieting, I used Splenda for the sweetener. You can replace that with any other sweetener you would prefer. I have a feeling that brown sugar could be very nice. I’d love to know how the bread turns out for you!

      • Thanks for the reply. I am going to “try” to make it for the holidays but we will see. It may have to wait until after the New Year. I will definitely keep you posted. In terms of sweeteners, here at home I use coconut palm sugar when I bake. We will see. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Millet Flax Bread | Real Food, Real Deals

  3. Hi there: The bread looks awesome. Just wondering why the need for gelatin? You already have tapioca, potato starch and xanthan gum, so I am very curious as to what effect omitting the gelatin would have, what is the rational for having the gelatin.

    Thank-you!

    • Hi, sorry I haven’t responded sooner but we’ve been away. As regards the gelatin. I have done some research on it and, when used in baking (as opposed to gelling), it apparently can limit surface cracking. I’m pretty sure you could leave it out without any significant change, but when I refashion recipes, I try to make the least amount of changes possible…hence, I left it in from the original. 🙂

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I think I failed to mention in the post that my husband is also trying to be as yeast free as possible. That was what caused the issue with my bread rising the first time. Your recipe looks delish tho, and I will def try it for a cheat meal for him. 🙂

  5. After many failed attempts at making a respectable loaf of GF bread, I have hit a home run with your recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, using brown sugar for the sweetener, and I did add the whole flax and millet which provides a nice crunchy texture. It rose beyond my expectations; I was almost afraid that it would collapse, but it baked beautifully. I also lined my bread pan with parchment paper to avoid greasing the pan and the crust was nicely browned all the way around. I appreciated the hint about taking the internal temperature; I think I may have pulled my previous loaves out of the oven too soon because they looked brown but then were always gummy on the inside. I am so glad that I no longer have to hunt for a good bread recipe – this will be my go-to recipe from now on. Thank you!

Did you find this helpful?

