When Brussels Sprouts Sing…(Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Red Onion and Olives)

I know, I know: another roasted vegetable dish. But this one is special. Really.

As some of you may recall, I roast vegetables in a way that is “not for the faint of heart,” mixing and matching all kinds of root and non-root vegetables. These dishes solve my dieter’s problem: “How am I going to gorge myself on vegetables today?” And I usually don’t add oil so the calorie count is as low as it can go.

Recently, however, two pounds of Brussels sprouts sang a different melody to me.  They sang of being on the main stage, second to none. I could see their point. They were lovely and fresh. They didn’t want to be stuck with carrots, celery root, turnips, parsnips, and whatever else I had in the fridge.

So…what do you do when Brussels sprouts sing? Listen, of course.

Makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs. of Brussels sprouts
  • 1 large red onion, diced
  • 2-4 tbsps. of sliced olives
  • 1-2 tbsp. of your favourite vinaigrette
  • Cooking spray

Directions

  1. Prepare sprouts by washing them, cutting off the bottoms, and halving each sprout.
  2. Spray a shallow cooking pan with cooking spray.
  3. Put prepared sprouts into pan and mix in the onion, olives, and vinaigrette.
  4. Cover and bake in a 350° F oven for 25 minutes.
  5. Uncover and continue baking for another 25 minutes.

For Weight Watchers: The point value depends on the amount of olives you use, your choice of vinaigrette, and the number of servings.

12 thoughts on “When Brussels Sprouts Sing…(Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Red Onion and Olives)

  1. I love brussels sprouts. They are so sweet and tender when cooked right. I even love to put them in soup. I am making your recipe tonight because I grabbed a bag at Costco this weekend. Only $1.98 for a 2 lb bag!

Did you find this helpful?

