WOW! Gluten-Free Angel Food Cake

IMGP1971

Every once in a while, I get a real thrill when baking for this blog, and this is one of those times. Why? Because what I’ve made not only exceeds my expectations, it proves that gluten-free cakes and breads can be just as good as those that include wheat. (Other thrills were cornbread, a loaf of yeast bread, and non-yeast mini-bread loaves.)

So…ta-da! I’m utterly thrilled and delighted to be able to bring you a gluten-free angel food cake that rose beautifully in the oven and didn’t sink while cooling. This success was wonderful in itself because I’ve tried other angel food cake recipes and had major flops (pun intended).

Best of all, this cake tastes like the real deal—sweet, moist, light, and delicious. Mmmm.

The credit for this marvel goes to the Taste of Home website and what you see here is 99.9% of their recipe (somewhat rewritten for clarity). My .1% contribution? I added cocoa powder because one of my mottos is “Chocolate Whenever!”

Speckled swirls?

Speckled swirls?

I thought I could get a black/white swirly thing going. Instead I got a speckled somewhat swirl, but…well, who cares? It’s still…Mmmm.

However, I have plans for this recipe. Right now, it is not a low-carb version. It has 1¼ cups of sugar and, if you slice this 16 ways, each piece has 23 g of carbohydrate. (For more nutrition info, see below.)

I’d like to bring the carbs down because I’m pre-diabetic and need to be careful about my carb intake. I plan to experiment with creating a cake that has a sugar/xylitol or sugar/erythritol combination.

Both of these sugar alternatives have the crunch of sugar but are much lower on the glycemic index and, thus, will have less impact on my blood sugar levels. An added benefit? A lower calorie version as well.

I’ll keep you posted.  In the meantime, bake…eat…enjoy!

Makes 16 slices

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Place egg whites in a large bowl; let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.
  2. Mix together ¾ cup sugar, flour, and starches and sift this mixture twice. The easiest way to do this is with two large measuring cups. (a) Mix the dry ingredients in one large measuring cup (I used a 4-cup measure). (b) Sift the mixture into a second measuring cup. (c) Then reverse the process, sifting the dry ingredients back into the first measuring cup.
  3. Set dry ingredient mixture aside.
  4. Return to the egg whites and add cream of tartar, salt, and vanilla.
  5. Beat until soft peaks form.
  6. Gradually add remaining ½ cup sugar, about 2 tablespoons at a time, beating until stiff peaks form.
  7. Now, gradually fold in the dry ingredient mixture, about ½ cup at a time.
  8. Gently spoon batter into an ungreased 10″ tube pan.
  9. Optional: If you want to try a black/white swirl, spoon only ½ of the mixture into the pan. Sift the cocoa powder (I didn’t do this and should have) into the remaining batter and fold. Add the rest of the batter to the pan and swirl with a spatula.
  10. Cut through the batter with a knife to remove air pockets. (If you’ve swirled, you’ve done that already.)
  11. Bake on the lowest oven rack at 350°F for 45-50 minutes or until lightly browned and entire top appears dry.
  12. Immediately invert pan and cool completely—about 1 hour.
  13. Using a knife, separate the cake from the pan at the sides and center tube.
  14. Remove cake to a serving plate.

Nutritional information: 1 slice equals 101 calories, trace fat (0 saturated fat), 0 cholesterol, 149 mg sodium, 23 g carbohydrate, trace fiber, 3 g protein. Diabetic Exchange: 1-1/2 starch. (Source: Taste of Home website)

For Weight Watchers: The entire cake is 37 points on the PointsPlus plan. One of 16 slices is 2.25 points. 

8 thoughts on “WOW! Gluten-Free Angel Food Cake

  1. What a fantastic recipe. Had you thought of using stevia instead of a sugar substitute? I’m looking forward to the lower carb versions. I’m definitely making this one for my BF.

    • I’ve never tried stevia actually and I should. Xylitol and erythritol are sugar alcohols and the nice thing about them is that they have the crunch of sugar and no aftertaste. Thanks for commenting and I hope the BF enjoys!

  2. How easy is this on a scale of 1-10? I was thinking of trying it out for a dinner party on thursday but won’t have time to bake it once as a trial. I’m a m

    • If you know how to beat egg whites and fold sifted stuff into them, I’d say a 3; if not, an 8 because you’ll be worrying about your egg whites. I made this a second time for my Book Club (without chocolate), and it was a thing of beauty and a joy forever (until it got eaten up). 🙂

  3. Pingback: Back to the Blog! | The Food ReFashionista

  4. Pingback: Erythritol as a Sweetener | The Food ReFashionista

Did you find this helpful?

