Sweet and Spicy Roasted Carrots

IMGP1894I admit it: I’m recycling. If you follow this blog, you know I write about roasted root vegetables ad nauseum* because I consider them a dieter’s best friends.

Then, to add insult to injury, I am also recycling a spice mix from Spiced Sweet Potato Round and (A Little Bit of) Squash Heaven.

It happened this way: I was staring at a 3 lb. bag of carrots and asked myself, “If that spice mix is so great with sweet potatoes and squash, why wouldn’t it be equally great with carrots?” Yes, such are the profound, metaphysical questions that mark my days.

And, happily, the universe went along because the answer was a resounding “Yes,” not only from the spouse, but also from two grandchildren (aged 13 and 14) who gave it a definitive thumbs up.

Ingredients

Vegetables

  • 2.5-3 lbs. carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced (optional; I had some and threw them in. If you are  watching your weight and use them, remember to add them in the final calorie or point count.)
  • 1 large leek or 2 small ones, sliced
  • 1 bunch scallions, finely sliced (to be added, fresh, at the end)
  • Cooking spray

Spice mix

  • 3 tbsp. brown sugar (I used Splenda’s Brown Sugar Blend.)
  • 1 tsp. salt (Use kosher salt if you have it.)
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • ½ tsp. onion powder
  • ½ tsp. garlic powder

Directions

  1. Spray a large shallow pan with cooking spray
  2. Add all vegetables, except scallions, into the pan.
  3. Cover pain with foil.
  4. Roast at 350° F for 30 minutes.
  5. Remove foil from pan and continue roasting for 30-35 minutes or until carrots can be pierced easily by a fork.
  6. While vegetables are roasting, prepare spice mix and scallions.
  7. Put roasted vegetables into a large bowl and add spice mix, mixing to coat well.
  8. Add scallions and mix.

For Weight Watchers: The entire amount of vegetables contain 1.5 points if you use Splenda and 3 points if you use regular brown sugar. Measure what you have and decide if you need to count the points at all!

*Other useful posts about roasted vegetables:

4 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Roasted Carrots

  1. Looks Wonderful! My problem is that I never seem to have the ingredients. How often do you go shopping? Can you write a blog post about efficient grocery shopping and how to manage it so you have food to actually cook realistic meals each day? I am so bad at that …

    • Whew…efficient grocery shopping. The problem is I’m retired and can dash out if I need something, but you and others are working, have families, and not a lot of time. I know when I was younger and had a family, my husband and I used to go and do huge grocery shopping once a month. The receipts were so long we used to say that we could wallpaper the house with them. That way we always had the basics and just had to buy perishables during the week. To be honest, I was never terribly good at meal planning, but I think that would be really important for efficient kitchen stocking. Maybe someone else out there has a suggestion?

    • I plan about 5 meals for the week and shop accordingly. I try to make enough of each meal to have some leftovers for the snacker in my house 🙂 I also try to plan recipes that share a few basic ingredients like chicken, onions, etc. It keeps your shopping trip shorter & more efficient.

      The other thing that has helped me is internet recipes on the go. If you have a smart phone, this will help you. I had found that when i’m at the store & see an ingredient on sale or something that just looked fun to try, i would either buy it & never use it or i wouldnt buy it because i didnt know what to cook with it. Enter my iphone haha. I will stand in an aisle & spend a moment researching recipes and then I can buy something to go along with that item.

      I also buy things like dry beans, oatmeal, brown rice, and nuts in bulk. That way I always have enough on hand in an emergency. It’s not the most creative shopping solution but it gets the job done.

      I hope this helps 🙂

Did you find this helpful?

