Curried Cauliflower-Sweet Potato Puree with Quinoa

HURRAY!

IT’S CAULIFLOWER SEASON!

But here’s the problem with this wonderful and versatile vegetable: the heads are big and awkward, and they takes up too much room in my fridge. So when I’ve gone a little overboard (bought 2-3 heads because they’re cheap as all get out), my instinct is to cook immediately and purée.

This dish occurred because, in addition to cauliflower, I already had half-a-microwaved sweet potato and cooked quinoa on hand.  Why not throw them all together, add some onion and Indian spices, and see what happens?

The result? A new and interesting taste for me and the spouse: spicy in a curry-ish way with a slightly onion-y crunch and an undercurrent of sweetness. We ate it last night with chicken sausages and…yum!

Now, you might find this dish too bland because I am always catering to my sensitive stomach. Therefore, I suggest you mix all the main ingredients together and then spice to taste. You could also play around with the amounts of cauliflower, sweet potato, and quinoa, depending on what you have.

Makes 3-4 1-cup servings

Ingredients

  • 1 small cauliflower, cooked (I did mine in the microwave)
  • ½ cup sweet potato, cooked (ditto)
  • 1 small onion, raw and chopped roughly (you could cook the onion first if you prefer it that way)
  • 1 cup quinoa, cooked
  • 1 tbsp. garam masala
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • ½ tsp. salt

Directions

  1. Using a processor or blender, purée the cauliflower, sweet potato, and onion together.
  2. Transfer mixture to a medium bowl and mix in the quinoa.
  3. Add spices, adjusting for your preferences.
  4. Serve warm.

For Weight Watchers: The total value for this dish under the PointsPlus plan is 7 points: 5 for the quinoa and 2 for the sweet potato. Measure your total amount and divide as you wish.

13 thoughts on “Curried Cauliflower-Sweet Potato Puree with Quinoa

  1. You must have sent out vibes early. I bought cauliflower and sweet potatoes this weekend. I ran out of garam masala though…..I love that stuff!

    • That’s a good idea, and I had heard about people who make their own. I’m still tiptoeing around Indian food. I love it, but trying to make diet Indian food that’s not too spicy is a challenge. Anyway, thanks so much for the advice, and I’ll take a look at that website.

  2. Thank you so much for including the WW Points! I’m new to WW and this really helps. Are there no points for cauliflower and onion though?

    • Hi, there is no point value for vegetables (except avocado) or fruits. Hence, you don’t have to count the cauliflower or onion. WW is happy to see you eat veggies until they come out your ears 🙂

Did you find this helpful?

