Ah, Joy! – On Losing 1 Pound After 1 Year of Dieting

Ah, joy!

I know that most of you are watching your weight and may be on some type of diet.

Which is why I’m convinced that you’ll know exactly how I felt when I stepped on the scale at a Weight Watcher meeting last week and discovered that I had finally lost 1 lb. after 1 year of dieting.

Who takes 1 year to lose 1 lb.? A person with a thyroid problem, that’s who.

On May 1, I posted an article about weight loss and the thyroid, based on my own troubling experience of a thyroid gone out-of-whack after some 20 years of being stable on medication. By the time I got to the doc, I had a bad case of hypothyroidism and a total gain of 13 lbs. that began in late spring, 2011.

How can I pinpoint this? Because I was being weighed weekly. Suddenly, after a weight loss of 30 lbs., I stalled. I figured it was the new WW PointsPlus plan, and I was eating too much fruit. I cut back and exercised more; that didn’t help. Then I went back to the old Points program but that didn’t work either.

To make a long story short, I tried this and I tried that, but with no success. Slowly but surely, those 30 lbs. were inching their way back on.

But I kept on the diet. Why? Weight gain or not, it was a healthy way to eat, and most of my digestive problems associated with food sensitivities had disappeared. It had become part of my lifestyle. I guess you could say that I was used to it.

So I persevered. Imagine what would have happened if I hadn’t. I probably would have regained the 30 lbs. and then some.

About 2 weeks ago, I visited the doc to find out if my thyroid numbers were back to normal after several adjustments to my medication. He pronounced my metabolism fine, but I knew that the real test would be the WW scale.

Stepping on that scale was very hard. I wasn’t sure I wouldn’t break down if I’d gained weight. Really.

To keep myself from hoping too much, I set the easiest goal. I told myself that it would be okay if my weight hadn’t changed. I’d consider that a step in the right direction.

And then…well, I really don’t think I have to tell you how it felt. We know that every lost pound—hell, every lost ounce—is a triumph. Right?

4 thoughts on “Ah, Joy! – On Losing 1 Pound After 1 Year of Dieting

  1. Triumph indeed! Wahay on getting your hypothyroidism meds adjusted so you feel good! Like you, I have taken thryoid meds for a long time – 40 years in my case (started in childhood). I know how hard it is to get the scale moving “in the right direction”. 😀

Did you find this helpful?

