Blogger Awards!

My cup runneth over. I have received blogger awards from two fellow bloggers! I am very honoured and pleased.

The first was Tahmina at the Kolpona Cuisine blog who awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award. Tahmina, whose motto is—”Life is to short to eat food that is lacking in imagination,” writes about tasty dishes from her home country of Bangladesh and other parts of the world. Thank you, Tahmina.

The second was Julie at the Julie Hansen Intuitive blog who awarded me both the Versatile Blogger Award and the Beautiful Blogger Award. Julie, who is a Reiki master and blessed with clairvoyant abilities, helps others develop their own intuitive abilities in order to live more fulfilling and positive lives. Thank you, Julie.

Update, May 9, 2012: Gretchen at the Gretchen Without Gluten blog who also just nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. Gretchen is fairly new to blogging but, clearly, an old hand at healthy, appealing recipes.

The blogosphere is a huge place, filled with millions of people talking about thousands of topics and throwing in billions of bits of information that make up the uniqueness that is their lives. In short, there’s a lot of stuff out there.

So how do we find each other? The blogroll is one place but, in my experience, finding other bloggers whose work I enjoy is mostly hit or miss.

These awards allow one blogger to acknowledge another, although I’m not exactly sure what “versatile” and “beautiful” actually mean. But they sure do sound good! And the awards come with two rules.

Recipient Rule #1: You’re in the Spotlight!

The recipient has to list seven things about him/herself. (This is surprisingly difficult, by the way. What do you reveal? The trivial or the profound, the sad or the happy, the good or the bad, the sad or the funny? Whew!)

Okay, Seven Things about Me:

  1. I am a skinny person living in a…well, plumpish…body. My wedding height and weight was 5′ 7″ and 119 lbs. Ah yes, those were the days.
  2. I was born in Brooklyn and grew up on Long Island, NY. Then I met a tall, dark, and handsome Canadian (the spouse) who brought me into the land of snow and ice. This is a testimony to the power of young love.
  3. The spouse, John, can eat gluten, dairy, and doesn’t have to diet. Well, they do say that opposites continue to attract, don’t they?
  4. An addiction to learning led me to go back to school at an…ahem…advanced, grandmother age and complete a Ph.D. in Communications. Yep, I was the oldest person getting a diploma that day!
  5. I have two daughters and three grandchildren who all live within five (bicycling) minutes of my house. I consider myself blessed in the riches of family.
  6. I love all things linguistic and have been highly attuned to the music of words since I was a small child. I am always reading about three books at a time.
  7. Last but not least: I love visual “feasts” whether they are provided by artists or by nature.

Recipient Rule #2: Pay It Forward!

Recipients get a chance to create some “link love,” by listing 15 other bloggers that they find interesting.

My 15 Interesting Blogs (in no particular order of importance)

  1. PhotoBoto – showcases different photographers and provides a photo a day that is, as advertised, generally amazing.
  2. The Splendid Table – great recipes and food information in a show put on by American Public Media. There’s also a podcast and web site.
  3. Sustainable Cooking for One – this cookbook author has her heart and mind firmly implanted in nature and the earth.
  4. Year-Struck – a baby boomer discusses, in amusing and ironic ways, the small things in life and literature.
  5. Natural Noshing – idiosyncratic, healthful, and gluten-free recipes from a cook filled with ideas.
  6. Clever Cook – I can’t always eat this Australian’s dishes because they’re beyond my diet, but I enjoy her imagination.
  7. Rain and Clouds – a transgendered black women and Episcopal priest, engaged to a Jewish man, eloquently discusses life and dieting.
  8. A Bit of Nutmeg – a gluten-free cook who, amazingly, hasn’t been seduced into baking with almond meal and coconut milk, two ingredients that will heave any diet right out the window.
  9. Big Sis Little Dish – two sisters who create unusual, elegant dishes, including those that are gluten-free.
  10. The StreetArt Blog – Works by artists who have taken to altering our streets, walls, sidewalks, etc.
  11. Gluten Free Zen – the source for my Focaccia Mini-Loaves. A gluten-free and dairy-free cook with great recipes.
  12. PaleoWorks – a blog that gives me insight into all things paleo and the paleo “take” on dieting.
  13. The Well-Seasoned Cook – hosts a variety of interesting culinary happenings, including My Legume Love Affair and Black and White Wednesdays.
  14. Edith Zimmerman – although she is no longer blogging, she has left a wonderful legacy of works in which she has turned food into amusing art.
  15. Low Amine Recipes – the author is allergic to foods that contain amines: these include gluten and dairy products. Her recipes contain only raw, unprocessed ingredients and I’m all for that!
3 thoughts on “Blogger Awards!

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I totally agree about finding other blogs and am excited to check out your list–I already see we have one in common. Best wishes to you and to one of my favorite blogs!

Did you find this helpful?

