Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Mushroom-Olive Pizza Slice with Cauliflower Crust

Google “cauliflower crust,” and you’ll find about a dozen recipes, most very similar. They’re intriguing—imagine eating pizza again! On the other hand, they pose a major problem for yours truly: way, way too much cheese for a dieter.

So I cut the cheese way, way down, made some other alterations, and prayed the crust would hold together. And it did—not that you could hold it in your hand and curve it the way you could a bread crust, but it was

  • Stiff enough to cut with a fork
  • Solid enough to support the sauce, mushrooms, olives, and cheese

And it didn’t taste like cauliflower! In other words—a cause for celebration!

And you know how everyone wants a different topping? We’re no different in this house. Hence the following recipe is ¾ mushroom, onion, olive, and sheep cheese for me, ¼ mushroom, onion, cheddar cheese, and absolutely no olives for the spouse. He really doesn’t know what he’s missing!

Printer-Friendly Recipe

Makes 8 slices

Pizza Crust: Ingredients and Directions

Note on salt: I found the cheese supplied enough to make the crust salty. However, if you want it saltier, add ¼-½ tsp.

  • 1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • ¾ cup liquid egg substitute (3 eggs)
  • ½ cup very hard cheese, grated (I used sheep romano)
  • ¼ cup fresh herbs (optional) (I had parsley on hand)
  • 3 tsps. dried oregano
  • 1½ tbsp. minced garlic
  • Cooking spray
  1. Cauliflower "pebbles" with parsley

    Put cauliflower florets in food processor (or “rice” with a grater) along with (optional) herbs.

  2. Pulse until florets have been reduced to tiny pebble size. (Don’t overdo it as you don’t want purée.) You should have 3-4 cups.
  3. Put into a microwavable glass or plastic bowl.
  4. Microwave for 8 minutes. (Don’t add water.)
  5. Mix in egg, oregano, and garlic.
  6. Spray a non-stick cookie sheet with cooking spray.
  7. Crust ready for the oven

    Empty cauliflower onto cookie sheet and spread so that level of cauliflower reaches top edge of sheet. (I also made small edges at the sides.)

  8. Bake in 450° F oven for 15 minutes and edges are starting to brown. (I added 5 minutes because I wasn’t sure mine was done, but when the pizza was completely cooked, I discovered that I shouldn’t have: it was overcooked and burnt at the edges. See photo below.)
  9. You can let crust cool before putting on sauce and toppings, if you wish.

Sauce and Toppings: Ingredients and Directions (for my ¾ of the pizza)

  • 7.5 oz. can of pizza sauce
  • 1 small onion, sliced thin
  • 1 lb. mushrooms, sliced
  • ½ cup olives, sliced
  • ¾ cup sheep romano cheese, grated
  1. Sauté together onion and mushroom slices until all liquid from the mushrooms has evaporated.
  2. Spread sauce over the crust.
  3. Top with onion and mushrooms.
  4. Sprinkle with olives.
  5. Spread with grated cheese.
  6. Bake in 450° F oven for 10 minutes.

Out of the oven!
(Sorry, slightly fuzzy)

For Weight Watchers: The entire crust is worth 7 points (eggs and cheese) so each 1/8 slice is worth 1 point. The topping point value is dependent on what you choose to include. Mine was roughly 2 points per slice.

(Adapted from “Cauliflower Crust Pizza” on the Eat.Drink.Smile Blog and the others that I researched.)

7 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  1. I just found a similar recipe that I made last weekend, and I loved it! I agree– I had to cut the cheese down a lot. I will probably experiment with no cheese and see what happens… I also thought it would be great as a flat bread without toppings.

    • Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. I did make the crust without cheese because I forgot to put it in! I thought it worked fine, but it had lost the salt and flavour of the cheese. Maybe more spices?

  2. Good to know. That gives me encouragement. Here is the recipe I used.
    http://www.eat-drink-smile.com/2011/04/cauliflower-crust-pizza.html
    It uses 1 cup of cheese in the crust. I used 1 cup once and 1/4 cup another time, and I liked less cheese better. I LOVE cheese, but like you am sensitive to it. Since I’ve cut out cheese, I realize sometimes it just doesn’t add much. Anyway, I used Manchego cheese. It’s a good thing we have those sheep and goat cheeses for moments when we just need cheese!

    • I love Manchego cheese, too. But I’d suggest using sheep Pecorino Romano, if you can. According to Weight Watchers, the very dry cheeses like romano and parmesan are lower in fats and hence in calories. I cook primarily with the romano and have Manchego cubes up to 1 oz. as a snack. 🙂

Did you find this helpful?

