Mushroom Bean Bake with Sage and Olive

What to do with eight cups of marked-down mushrooms that were actually in great shape? (What was that store thinking?)

First I made mushroom soup. Of course. Then I decided to see what would happen if I tried a mushroom bean bake.

I acknowledge that this savoury dish isn’t the prettiest of my experiments to date, but I do love its subtle mixture of flavours. In fact, it turned out to be a perfect complement for Peanut Butter Tomato Soup, which I recently served at a dinner party. Usually I have a gluten-free sweet cornbread, but this bake fit the bill instead. (And imagine the fun I had asking my guests what they thought was the bake’s main ingredient!)

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 8 slices or servings

Cooking tip: Unlike the sweet bean bake, its savoury cousin tastes better warm than cold. Store in the refrigerator and then microwave a piece for 30 seconds at high in the microwave.

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups white navy beans (19 oz. can), drained and rinsed
  • 1½ cups mushrooms, cooked and drained (I put about 2½ cups of fresh mushrooms into a bowl with some water and microwaved them until they’d been reduced in size. )
  • 3 eggs (don’t use a substitute)
  • ¼ cup fresh sage, chopped
  • ¼ cup black olives (I had bought a can of sliced olives and used some of those.)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. hot sauce (I’m conservative with this sauce; you might want it hotter.)
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • Cooking spray

Directions 

  1. Put all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Spray an 8″ or 9″ springform pan or a 9″x 9″ pan with cooking spray.
  3. Pour in batter; it will be thick but flow easily.
  4. Bake in 350° F oven for 40-45 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.
  5. Serve warm.

For Weight Watchers: A 1/8 slice is 2 points in the PowerPoints program.

4 thoughts on “Mushroom Bean Bake with Sage and Olive

    • Standard white mushrooms but big ones…maybe they have a different name? Re the meatloaf: but the photographers have a way of making meatloaf look tasty, don’t they? I really believe these bean bakes are a terrific food but it’s hard to show that visually.

Did you find this helpful?

