Gaining Weight on PointsPlus: Part 2

When I first began this blog, Weight Watchers had just shifted to the new PointsPlus (PP) system. Like many of you, I had gone from 22 daily points + 35 weekly bonus to 29 daily points + 49 weekly bonus. Theoretically, the results should have been equal because the new PP program gave a higher point-value to products that are heavy in carbs.

I had been very disappointed (see Part 1) because my weight loss stopped and I started gaining! I was advised by my leader to cut back on fruit which was now free. Theoretically, this should have made a difference.

But it didn’t. I didn’t gain any more weight, true, but I wasn’t losing weight either.

For a while I went back to the old Points program, but I could see that my paper calculator wasn’t going to last forever, and I was going to have to make peace with the new program.

I decided to track my food and point intake on both programs for a week. To ensure equality between both programs, I also gave a point-value to fruit (see Points Values of Fruits on PointsPlus). The result was “six of one, half-a-dozen of the other.” I was within the total point count on both programs.

So I moved myself and the blog into the PP era, started to really exercise, watched my fruit intake, and figured everything would be fine.

It wasn’t. I’ve been hovering around the same weight for the past two months or so.

Now my leader has suggested I cut my daily points to 26 instead of 29. So I’ve started to do that this week. Will it work? I don’t know nor, apparently, does anyone else.

According to a Feb. 6, 2012 article about Weight Watchers in the New York Times, I’m not alone in this weight-loss problem. Some people yo-yo around a weight as I do, while others report a much slower weight loss than before. The article says that the recent move to 26 points may have been WW’s solution to the problem:

In December, in a move that seemed to acknowledge the difficulty many dieters were having with the new system, Weight Watchers recommended that all members consider reducing their daily food intake, or points allotment, by 10 percent, not counting fruits and vegetables…Although Weight Watchers officials say the change in points allotments was optional — that members could adjust their daily points up or down — and insist that it was not a response to members’ failure to lose weight, many longtime members unhappy with the newer plan say they feel vindicated.

So now I’ll wait and see. I’ll be honest: I don’t like the vagueness around fruit intake and I’m not sure how much I trust the new formula that calculates points. But I still believe that WW is the best weight loss program around.

I preservere.

I’ll keep you posted.

6 thoughts on “Gaining Weight on PointsPlus: Part 2

  1. My impluse would be to cap fruit at 2 cups per day (or have it use points for anything consumed above two cups). Another option might be to have the lower calorie and lower glycemic index options be free, but limit others. Could be wrong… and I don’t actually have the WW experience itself.

    • Either of those might work. My thought is that there are simply too many points per week for some of us. The diet seems to work well for newbies to the program, but in the Times article all the disgruntled were like me: long-time members. It’s pretty frustrating.

  2. Stay strong – you are still further ahead than you were (and look great to boot!) – plus you are eating really well. I’m also not sure how I feel about how points plus points are calculated but only one month in and I’m losing steadily for now but we’ll see what happens long term.

  3. I’m with you on the “rather be losing”, and wanted to thank you for the post and the link to the article – glad to know our experience isn’t uncommon. Hubby and I had both done the old Weight Watchers in the past and it worked, then joined last summer (hime online/I went to meetings) when they’d introduced the new Points Plus system. He immediately was discouraged and I wasn’t far behind him – simply too many points! My thoughts are that they could have raised the points but left the fruits and veggie point counts in place, or vice versa.

    • I know it is frustrating. My daughter who has been on both has lost weight but she says it’s slower on the new program. I have recently found that I may have a thyroid problem which is really confusing results. I’ll post more about that when I know more. In the meantime, best of luck to you both!

Did you find this helpful?

