Thanks to Roasted Vegetables, I Didn’t Gain A Pound!

This week, I went to my first Weight Watchers meeting in almost two months.  Fear lay heavily on my soul.  I’d been careful with food when we were away, but even so…I hadn’t followed any particular diet or tracked what I was eating.

And there’s a confession too: I had a love affair with pistachio nuts while in Tucson.  And Safeway carried these cinnamon sugar rice cakes we don’t get in Ottawa…

So imagine my delight and that of my WW leader to discover that I’d not gained a pound.  Clearly, I’m terrific at maintaining my weight…now to take off 20 more pounds, but that is the subject of another post.

I attribute this weight maintenance to three things: I did a lot of walking; we didn’t eat out very often; I made roasted vegetables so that we always had some for every dinner, even if we had salad as a side dish; AND I ate the roasted vegetables, of which I always made a large quantity, in place of potatoes or rice.

I didn’t plan this strategy in advance.  I ended up roasting vegetables because our rented apartment had no equipment for steaming vegetables but did have two shallow casserole dishes with covers.  The result was that I cooked vegetables that were on sale or looked good.

This is what I learned from the experience, above and beyond what I wrote in my first post about roasted vegetables (DIY Roasted Vegetable Medley):

Anything goes. Don’t be afraid to mix and match. Some combinations will be better than others, but all will be tasty and more than amply filled your daily vegetable quotient.  For example, my last combo included the following chopped vegetables and herb.

  • 1 leek
  • 1 green zucchini
  • 1 yellow zucchini
  • ½ cup of butternut squash
  • 1 fennel bulb
  • 1 baby eggplant, unpeeled
  • 1 parsnip
  • 2 tbsp. of thyme
  • ¼ cup of chicken broth

Vegetables are forgiving.  You can roast the vegetables at any time of day and microwave them for dinner; the taste and texture didn’t suffer.  And leftovers were just fine.

Keep the cooking simple.  My original recipe was a little “fussy”about cooking temperatures.  All I now do is

  1. Spray the casserole with cooking spray.
  2. Throw in the chopped vegetables and chosen herb(s).
  3. Add ¼ cup of chicken broth.
  4. Bake the dish covered in a 350°F oven for 30 minutes; then remove the cover and bake for another 30 minutes.  Voilà!

Add cheese when in doubt.  If you’re concerned that a combo might not work as well as you would like or you find that this is indeed the case, add 2 tbsp. per serving of sheep romano cheese in the baking or sprinkle it on afterwards.  There is nothing like cheese to make things better. (Note to Weight Watchers: make sure you add the points.)

Blessed are the beans.  If you want to create a main dish instead of a side dish, throw in a ½ cup of cooked, rinsed, beans for the last 30 minutes.  Any kind will do—kidney, romano, chickpea, white, pea, lima…whatever.  They’ll all taste good. (Again, note to Weight Watchers: make sure you add the points.)

Yours in roasting and dieting, Claire

One thought on “Thanks to Roasted Vegetables, I Didn’t Gain A Pound!

  1. Pingback: DIY Roasted Vegetables Medley | The Food ReFashionista

Did you find this helpful?

