Broccoli Slaw Salad with Chicken, Apple, and Pickle

Looking for a quick, easy-to-make, low-cal lunch?  When we were in Tucson (where we vacationed for a month), I discovered that Safeway carried broccoli slaw which we also have in Canada and which I’ve been using as the basis for a lunch salad.  This salad is as healthy as all get out, covers all the food groups except grains, and has a great, crunchy texture.

I’ll add a photo when I’m a little more settled.  (The photo is now added.  In this version, I didn’t have any chicken or turkey so I threw in a hard-boiled egg instead.  It’s okay, but I prefer the meats.) When we got home from Arizona three days ago, I discovered that my computer wasn’t working and that my hard drive was fried.    I’m sure you can envision the ensuing rigamarole.   In the meantime, get out the broccoli slaw…

Ingredients

  • 2-3 cups of broccoli slaw
  • 2 ounces cooked chicken, cut up into small pieces (If I don’t have leftover chicken around, I use sliced chicken from the deli.)
  • 1 apple, cored and chopped
  • 1-2 sandwich saver pickle slices (I use dill with extra garlic (no sugar); these are only 4 calories per slice.)
  • 1 tbsp. low-cal mayonnaise
  • Salt to taste

Directions:  Mix together all ingredients in a bowl and enjoy!

For Weight Watchers: The points value is in the chicken and mayonnaise.  The amounts used in this recipe come to 4.5 points on the Points program and 3.5 points on the PointsPlus program.

Did you find this helpful?

