Plum and Red Cabbage Slaw

The plum season cometh to an end; the cabbage season arriveth.  What better time to marry the two foods together in a delicious, tart, and crunchy coleslaw? 

In keeping with the spirit of full disclosure, I should tell you that when I tried this recipe first, I decided to make it a cooked, rather than raw, dish.  I really liked it, but then I’ll eat just about any vegetable dish.  The spouse was not amused.  So I decided to try it this way.  I still really like, but now the spouse informs me than he’s not really that enamoured of red cabbage.

Interesting how you forget things about the other person when you’re in a really long relationship, isn’t it?  I think I had this bit of knowledge at the back of my mind—the place where I keep unwanted information. 

No problem, I’m going to eat the whole thing.

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 6 1-cup servings

Ingredients

  • 4 cups shredded red cabbage (approximately ½ large head)
  • 2 large plums or 4 small ones, thinly sliced (People who are not watching their sugar intake, could also add 1 apple.)
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. onion, grated (optional)
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 tbsp. rice or balsamic vinegar
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, mix together cabbage, plums, and onion (optional).
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil and vinegar and pour over plum and cabbage mixture.
  3. Salt and pepper to taste.

For Weight Watchers: A 1-cup serving is 1 point on the Points plan and .5 point on the PointsPlus plan. 

(Adapted from “Plum and Red Cabbage Salad,” published in the Ottawa Citizen.)

Did you find this helpful?

