Spiced Frozen Bananas

My favourite breakfast is fruit and yogurt so my idea of heaven is a berry season that goes on year-round which, alas and sigh, is not the case here in Ottawa.  So bananas are my staple for fall, winter, and spring—that is, until reader and friend, Becky, sent me this recipe.

So what turned me back onto bananas in the summer?  The small explosions of what tasted like vanilla ice cream in my fruit-yogurt mix, courtesy of frozen bananas that have been brushed with a light coating of spice. 

Of course, you can eat these bananas by themselves for an “ice cream” treat, but I found that mixing them with other fruit minimized the banana flavour (which I can get in other seasons) and emphasized the vanilla ice cream taste.

Makes 8 servings of ¼ banana each

Ingredients

  • 2 bananas
  • 1 tbsp. pure vanilla extract (pure is better than artificial)
  • ¼ tsp. ground cinnamon (the original called for allspice which I don’t like but you may)
  • ¼ tsp. ground ginger

Directions

  1. Prepare bananas by quartering them.
  2. Mix vanilla extract and spices.
  3. Using a brush, apply spice mixture on all sides of bananas.
  4. Place bananas cut-side down on wax paper.
  5. Freeze for at least 30 minutes before using.
  6. Cut into small slices and add to a fruit mixture.

For Weight Watchers:  .5 point per serving for the Points plan and 0 points for the PointsPlus plan.

4 thoughts on “Spiced Frozen Bananas

  1. Fun; I’ve been seeing a number of interesting banana recipes recently. As a non-banana fan (I’d go to bat for an apple any day), recipes that claim to taste more like other things are always on the list as a way to sneak in a little more fruit. I’ll pass this one on, too.

  2. I’d never be so nefarious as to try to sneak in extra fruit! Each to his/her own is what I say. That being said, I find most Weight Watchers try to get in 1 or 1/2 banana per day for its healthy nutrients. For me, spicing and freezing the banana altered its mundane qualities into something a little more exciting. 🙂

Did you find this helpful?

