Gaining Weight On PointsPlus!

I am a lifetime member of Weight Watchers and have great faith in their programs.  I think they can not only help people lose weight but also teach us how to have a more balanced diet.

So, you can imagine my dismay when I discovered that I was gaining weight on the new plan, PointsPlus, that was introduced in January, 2011.  For those who are new to WW, this plan was similar to the Points plan, except that it increased the point value for carbohydrates but now allowed fruits for free.

Initially, I loved the program because I love fruit, but after several weeks, it was clear that the diet wasn’t working for me.  I was gaining instead of losing.  My group leader advised me to cut back on fruits and vegetables!  This was so counter-intuitive to my whole way of thinking about nutritional eating that I went back to the Points plan and started losing weight again.

Clearly, I have a limit to how much fruit I can eat before gaining.  My strategy now is to stay with the Points plan (no more gaining!), but also add up points as if I were on PointsPlus.  When I do this I won’t count fruit as zero, but assign each fruit a value.  (I can do this by creating a chart of the value points for fruit under PointsPlus, based on the formula that underlies the plan.)  This will allow me to compare the two plans.

I’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “Gaining Weight On PointsPlus!

    • I’ll check those sites out. I did find out that thyroid problems were affecting my ability to lose weight (I posted about this) so I really don’t know how I’m going to do. I’ve just started my exercise routine last week. Here’s my fingers crossed!

Did you find this helpful?

