DIY Apple-Spaghetti Squash Kugel

Go wild! Go artistic!

Go wild! Go artistic!

Happy New Year to everyone! May it be filled with good health and resolutions held firm…if possible. I’m a little late getting 2014 started blogwise, but I’m charging out of the gates with a new “blog-look” and a revised recipe. Here goes!

Back in 2012, I posted a recipe for Apple-Spaghetti Squash Kugel, adapted from one on the blog, Cara’s Cravings. It was low in calories, had no oil, and tasted yummy. Recently, I decided to make it again, but now the recipe struck me as, well, conservative.

So I went as wild as I could, considering my forever diet. I used currants instead of raisins. I added pumpkin and sunflower seeds. I exchanged regular Splenda with Splenda’s Brown Sugar Blend (I told you I went wild!).

IMGP2040The result was super-yummy and more filling than the original.  Of course, it had more Weight Watcher points, but it also made 8 servings which spread those points around.

Then I realized that I hadn’t plumbed this recipe’s possibilities. Hence, this a DIY recipe because you can mix and match ingredients to your heart’s content.

Makes 6-8 servings

Basic Ingredients

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash, cooked (approximately 4 cups)
  • ¾ cup liquid egg substitute (3 eggs)
  • ½ cup sweetener (sugar, brown sugar, Splenda, or Splenda Brown Sugar)
  • 2 tsps. ground cinnamon or 1 tsp. cinnamon + 1 tsp. Chinese 5 spice
  • 2 apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
  • Cooking spray

Note for Weight Watchers: The total point value of the dish, using a no-cal sweetener and eggbeaters is 3 points! This is why you can go a little DIY wild if you like!

DIY Ingredients: I used ¼ cup for each of my additions of seeds and currants, but the amount is up to you. Pick and choose but two warnings: 1) I haven’t tried all of these (just used my imagination), and 2) be sparing as all are high in calories.

  • Add sweetness: Currants, raisins and/or shredded, sweetened coconut
  • Add protein:
    • Pumpkin or sunflower seeds (salted or unsalted)
    • Sesame or poppy seeds (as a topping)
    • Walnuts, pecans, almonds and/or cashews (in pieces)
    • Chia and hemp seeds
  • Add carbohydrates along with some protein:
    • Quinoa seeds (rinse and uncooked)
    • Quinoa flakes
    • Millet seeds (rinsed and uncooked)
  • Add fiber:
    • Flaxseed
  • Have any other suggestions? Please post a comment.

Note for Weight Watchers: Points Values of Commonly Used Seeds provides information that is not in the WW booklet. Also OneMorePound.com has a helpful web page with points information for many nuts, seeds, etc.

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, sweetener, and cinnamon.
  2. Add spaghetti squash and toss to coat.
  3. Add apples if you don’t want to decorate the top.
  4. Mix in DIY ingredients.
  5. Spray a 6″ x 10″ or 9″ x 9″ pan with cooking spray.
  6. Pour the mixture into the pan, smoothing the surface. Set slices of apples into the top if that’s your chosen method.
  7. Bake in a 375° F oven for 35-45 minutes until golden and set.

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Apple-Spaghetti Squash Kugel

  1. Interesting. I’ve actually never made a kugel, but I love them, especially the savory ones. I wonder if lessening the sugar and adding some sauteed onions could bring this into the savory realm.

    • Wow…we are “two minds but with a single thought.” I’ve been thinking about a savoury spaghetti squash kugel for a while. Onions definitely, spices, and then I have to decide if I want to add meat and what kind and how to do it or if I want to leave it vegetarian. Hmmm… And thanks for commenting!

Did you find this helpful?

