Minty Lentil and Quinoa Salad with Goat Cheese

Back in June, 2011, I wrote a post that included the travails of cooking (includes photo) aboard our 30-year old, 32-foot cabin cruiser, the Outrageous, which we use as a moving cottage on the lakes around Ottawa and as a means of travel to the St. Lawrence River and the Thousand Islands.

At the time, I likened the galley to a shower stall, and guess what? Nothing has changed its size between now and then. Thus another summer finds me once again seeking out ways to maintain my healthy, gluten-free, and low-cal diet while on the water. Basically, I need a variety of dishes that I can make in advance and that are easily portable.

Hence a Weight Watcher recipe for “Lentil Salad with Fresh Mint and Goat Cheese” caught my eye. It had no flour, I love mint, and legumes are my friends. Most importantly, it fit my seafaring criteria. The problem? After I made it, I found its flavour too dense—it had…well, too many lentils in one bite.

I began to mix it with other dishes: a lettuce salad, a chicken salad. All were good, but nothing I’d write home about. Then I decided to add cooked quinoa and hit the jackpot, taste-wise and nutritionally speaking. A cup of this salad is a power-house of filling protein and a great mix of tastes, both fresh (mint) and salty (cheese), and interesting textures, both crunchy and soft.

Makes 4.5 cups

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked lentils
  • 1½ cups cooked quinoa
  • ½ cup red onion
  • ½ cup fresh mint leaves
  • 2.5 oz. of goat feta
  • Salt, to taste.

Directions

  1. Rinse lentils and put in a large bowl.
  2. Put the onion, mint leaves, and goat feta into the small bowl of a food processor.
  3. Process with 2 or 3 quick pulses so that the mixture is chopped but not puréed.
  4. Add with quinoa to lentils and mix well.
  5. Serve hot (1-2 minutes in the microwave) or cold.

For Weight Watchers: 1 cup is worth 5 points on the PointsPlus plan.

7 thoughts on “Minty Lentil and Quinoa Salad with Goat Cheese

  1. Can’t wait to try this! I’ve pinned it to my Quinoa, Rice & Lentils board.

  2. Lovely! For a twist try a dash of cinnamon and allspice and tell me what you think. I make a whole wheat bulghur and lentil salad that has mint and green onions, and those spices give it added antioxidant value and a nice kick. Cheers!

  3. Artichokes are my secret weapon when it comes to lentil salads. Cucumbers will do in a pinch, but the artichokes elevate them beyond belief. Have you ever tried cooking them together (lentils first, obviously, and then adding the quinoa)?

    • I love artichokes…what a great idea. And now that I’m thinking about it, you could also add hearts of palm. And no I’ve never tried cooking the lentils and quinoa together? Does that make it more flavourful?

Did you find this helpful?

