Quinoa Pudding #4: Mango-Banana

I bought a box of 18 mangoes because the price was…well, so compelling.  I could just hear those mangoes calling out to me.  When I arrived home, my husband groaned at the sight…yes, I’ve done this before, but this time the price was even better!  This earned me a rolling of the eyes, which I completely disregarded as we’ve been married for 45 years, and a few mangoes can’t threaten that marital bond, can they?

Okay, so what to do with all this ripening fruit?  My solution was to make several iterations of Coconut-Mango Squares and to turn to my versatile quinoa pudding recipe.  Since I also had one small, overripe banana, I decided to throw that in with some mangoes (although I’m sure you could just use mangoes).  The result: a pudding so sweet that it required no additional sweetener.  And, as with the Summertime Banana Quinoa Pudding, I served this cold—a delicious, refreshing, and filling treat for my late-afternoon snack.

When varying this recipe: The trick, I find, is to make sure that you have a total of 3½ cups of liquid between the milk and the puréed fruit.  When I combined the banana with 2 small, yellow ataulfo mangoes, I ended up with 1½ cups and, therefore, reduced the original 2½ cups of almond milk down to 2 cups.  Two other differences from the banana pudding: I altered the spices to adapt to the mango flavour and had to cook the pudding longer.  I’m not sure why: perhaps because there is more fruit and less milk?

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 10 ½-cup servings

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa seeds
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • ½ cup liquid egg substitute
  • ¼ cup artificial sugar, to taste if necessary
  • ½ tsp. vanilla
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • ¼ tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1½ cups cup puréed mangoes and bananas (2 mangoes and 1 banana)

Instructions

  1. Rinse quinoa seeds if the manufacturer has not indicated that this has been done.
  2. Put 2 cups of water in a saucepan and bring to a boil.
  3. Add quinoa and bring to boil again.
  4. Lower heat to simmer.
  5. Cover and cook for 15-20 minutes.  The quinoa should have absorbed all the water, and you should have approximately 2 cups.
  6. In a bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, salt, cinnamon, and puréed fruit.
  7. Test for sweetness and add artificial sugar if necessary.
  8. Add cooked quinoa to liquid ingredients.
  9. Bake in 325 degree oven for 60-70 minutes until the sides are pulling away from the pot.  The middle will be liquid-y and jiggle because the quinoa is not yet set.
  10. Let stand for 15 minutes for liquid to absorbed.
  11. Chill in refrigerator.

For Weight Watchers: 2 points per ½-cup serving on the Points plan and 1.5 points on the PointsPlus plan.

Note: This is the only recipe I’ve made so far in which the point-value was higher on the older Points plan.  Why?  Because this recipe uses less milk, which “costs” more on the PointsPlus plan, and has more fruit, which is “expensive” on the Points plan but has no value in PointsPlus.  However, if you use whole eggs and soy milk, this would alters the point-value so that a ½-cup serving would now be the same—2 points—on both plans.

3 thoughts on “Quinoa Pudding #4: Mango-Banana

  1. Pingback: 27 Substitutes for Gluten-Free Eating | The Food ReFashionista

  2. Pingback: This Week’s Favorites

Did you find this helpful?

